Adult Indigo Bio - Darth

I was born in a log hospital... just kidding.

I was born in a birthing clinic, with a midwife, my mother took no drugs. I was apparently quite alert when I was born. The first day of life I am told I tried to pull the "number one dad" button off my dad's shirt. Wotta little punk I must have been! My dad did most of the baby care while my mom worked. I'm still close with him because of that. I started learning very early, started trying to read at the age of two. I have vague memories of looking at books around then. About the same time I got my first pair of glasses, and one of the first things I commented on was the moon up in the sky. My parents never pressured me to learn then, I just wanted to find out about everything. They say I made them put up signs labeling everything so I could find out what it was called. At around four, I remember my parents saying that they didn't want to send me to preschool, I should have one more year of freedom.

I didn't go to kindergarten either. In my fourth year my parents got five acres in the backwoods of northern Idaho, thirty miles from a town called Priest River. We had no running water, or power, or septic system. We used a wood stove, kerosene lamps, an outhouse, and carried water from a local creek to drink, which we then boiled so it would be safe. We spent about two years there. We had chickens and rabbits for food. My dad built an extension on the cabin and also a chicken coop. We were getting settled pretty well when the cabin burned down and we had to move back to Seattle. I had my first grade education in Idaho, we were too far from school so my parents taught me. We were a closeknit unit, just the three of us. We had some "neighbors" but they were a little odd.

I should say a little about my parents, for they are special and figure greatly into my life. Both of them went to college at the University of Washington, and met there. I was concieved there. My mom got her first ultrasound at the medical center there. I also went there for college. It was like coming home. My mother studied English but didn't graduate because she had too hard a time taking the math and science needed to complete the degree. She is a writer and loves animals and growing things. My dad got his degree in Aerospace Engineering and then moved away with my mom when I came along- this eventually led to moving to Idaho. Another thing about my dad- he's totally blind, and has been so since five years of age. He can't see a thing. This has factored heavily in his difficulty in getting a job, it's not because of his inability to work, it's because of the employers' inability to treat him like a real person. I feel like I should tell my parent's whole stories too because they affect me so much, but I won't.

Anyway. I was about six, we moved to Seattle. We decided that I shouldn't go to public school because we lived in a bad neighborhood. Also, I was so far ahead in reading that classes in that would only be a bore, but I was about normal in other things like math and science. I think I knew more about history because of my dad's great historical bedtime stories. I always loved the library, and had a strong interest in medieval times, Greek myth, Egyptian stuff in general, and especially anything to do with magic. Lots of stuff happened.

I had a small candy selling business in which I parlayed 31 cents in suckers up to several dollars in candy, what the market would bear. I learned a lot about making change and figuring profit in those times. I continued to be homeschooled. We were very poor monetarily but we always had a lot of books. I didn't understand my peers, I was made fun of a lot. I don't know if I would have survived public school, but luckily my parents were nonconformist too. My dad took me to work when he had jobs that allowed it- I remember learning about hot air by putting plastic bags over a heater and watching them rise, and making jokes about the Montgolfier Brothers.

I wanted to become a parapsychologist, and remember reading at one college level text around the age of 9 or 10. But I wasn't too good in math. The ideas had a hard time sticking and bored me. Both my parents continued to homeschool me- my mom handled the art and writing, my dad did the math and history and science. They tried private schools when they could, but people had problems with me because I knew too much. I didn't fit into their comfortable idea of a malleable little kid.

More moving happened, more growing. I first went to school when I went to high school. It was in Bellingham, and was Wellspring Community School, (Arts and Sciences in Service of the Community). I was immediately offered a full scholarship, and went to the very first class they ever offered. They were a tiny school- only about 20 people at first. I still remember my teachers very fondly. It was there that I learned the beginnings of my spiritual path. I learned about Shamanism and Paganism and Wicca, and loved it all. I wanted to be a part of it. They all supported me in this, my teachers were good to me. I think I did a lot of growing.

My college years started out in a community college, free through the Running Start program. I started going to college at 16. Then I went to the University of Washington at 18, I was a junior. I learned more about Paganism... by then I was more firmly on my path. I hung out with members of the University Christian Fellowship, an openminded and cool group of people that ironically helped me decide that I was definitely Pagan. My best friend is a member of that group, as was my boyfriend. I fell in love with a wonderful guy I met there, he was really smart, could read very fast, was currently taking two degrees, and started going to the University at 14. I went with him for about two years- but that's another long story. I helped out a small group called the UW Pagans. I'm still webmistress for their site. At the university my course of study was Metal Arts at first- I wanted to learn to forge steel and make swords. That fell through because there ended up being just one proffessor, and we didn't get along. I learned about Art History and Ceramics, and had fun with both. I practiced Kendo for two years but once I got in armor I decided that I didn't like the competitiveness of it. I met another mentor there, my Sensei. He's the greatest!

Now I just need to finish one more class (retake it, that is) and then I'll be done with my degree. I am living in Olympia, with a friend of mine, and greatly enjoying my very first cat. I continue the spiritual path begun at Wellspring, and am glad for my life.



View Formatted
© 1998-2019 Wendy Chapman